Safe, Clean Water Program

South Santa Monica Bay





Meeting Minutes:

Wednesday, December 16, 2020 1:00pm - 3:00pm WebEx Meeting

Attendees

Committee Members Present:

Cung Nguyen (LA County Flood Control District)
EJ Caldwell (West Basin)
Diane Gatza (Water Replenishment District)
Kristen Ruffell (Sanitation Districts)
Darryl Ford* (Los Angeles Rec & Park)
Craig Cadwallader (Surfrider)
Guang Yu Wang (SMB Restoration Commission)
Hany Fangary (Fangary Law Group)

Wendy Butts (LA Conservation Corps)
Julio Gonzalez (Carson)
Susie Santilena (LA)
TJ Moon (LA County)
John Dettle (Torrance)
Stephanie Katsouleas (Manhattan Beach)
Ken Rukavina (Palos Verdes Estates)

Committee Members Not Present:

Heecheol Kwon (Hawthorne)

*Committee Member Alternate

See attached sign-in sheet for full list of attendees

1. Welcome and Introductions

Diane Gatza, Chair of the South Santa Monica Bay WASC, called the meeting to order.

All committee members made self-introductions, and a quorum was established.

Diane Gatza requested that Voting item 7 be moved following approval of the meeting minutes. The change was agreed upon by committee by show of hands.

2. Approval of Meeting Minutes from November 18, 2020

The District provided a copy of the meeting minutes from the previous meeting. Diane Gatza asked the committee members for comments or revisions.

Kristen Ruffell requested minutes be corrected to note in item 7a, that Kristen Rukavina should be updated to Kristen Ruffell for nomination of Ken Rukavina.

Kristen Ruffell made a motion to approve the meeting minutes. Cung Nguyen seconded the motion. The Committee voted to approve the meeting minutes. (Approved, See vote tracking sheet).

7. Voting Items

a) Selection of Chair, Co-Chairs, and/or Vice Chair

Craig Cadwallader nominated himself as Vice Chair. Hany Fangary seconded Craig Cadwallader's nomination to vice Chair.

Safe, Clean Water Program

South Santa Monica Bay

Watershed Area Steering Committee (WASC)



Kristen Ruffell nominated Stephanie Katsouleas for chair. Stephanie Katsouleas declined the nomination.

Susie Santilena nominated Kristen Ruffell for chair. Kristen Ruffell accepted the nomination.

Cung Nguyen made a motion to select Kristen Ruffell for chair and Craig Cadwallader as vice Chair. EJ Caldwell seconded the motion. The Committee voted to approve. (unanimous).

3. Committee Member and District Updates

Kirk Allen provided the District update noting: the launch of the SCW Portal and Dashboard, the Scoring Committee has begun scoring projects, all municipal transfer agreements have been sent out and the District has begun receiving annual plans, all regional transfer agreements are now out and the District has begun receiving scopes of work, and program reporting will likely begin in July.

4. Public Comment Period

No public comments received.

5. Discussion Items:

a) Ex Parte Communication Disclosures

No Ex Parte Communication Disclosures received.

b) Watershed Coordinator Selection

i) Process Overview

During the interview process, District staff will read each interview question and have it presented on the screen. Each WC will be allowed 20 minutes to answer all the questions. District staff will manage a timer and provide a time remaining reminder to the interviewees at the end of the interview and then 10 minutes will be allowed for follow up questions and answers. Committee members were sent the set of WC interview questions, note-taking sheet, the WC roles/responsibilities, and each WC's Statement of Qualifications (SOQs). It is important to write notes to remember critical information when voting at the next meeting, or should the Committee member present at today's meeting not be present at the following meeting (in this case, the meeting notes should be passed onto the alternate member). If any of the Committee members have a financial link to any of the WC interviewees, these Committee members must recuse and remove themselves from the WC selection process. For WC applicants that did not meet the scoring threshold, debriefing meetings have already been scheduled with LA County Public Works' Contracts Division.

ii) Interview

The following firms and respective presenters conducted the WC interviews by answering all of the interview questions and individual WASC member questions.

(1) Environmental Outreach Strategies.

WASC individual members with specific questions after the interview were Susie Santilena, Darryl Ford, Kristen Ruffell, and Stephanie Katsouleas.

Safe, Clean Water Program

South Santa Monica Bay





(2) Richard Watson & Associates Inc.

WASC individual members with specific questions after the interview were Susie Santilena, Guang Yu Wang, and Darryl Ford.

(3) Heal The Bay

WASC individual members with specific questions after the interview were Susie Santilena, Hany Fangary, Darryl Ford, and Ken Rukavina.

6. Public Comment Period

No public comments received.

8. Meeting Schedule

- a) 1st Wednesday, 10AM-12PM (placeholder from January to April 2021)
- b) 3rd Wednesday, 1-3PM (ongoing)
- c) For WC Selection:
 - i) Wednesday, 1/6 from 10AM-12PM scheduled
 - ii) Wednesday, 1/20 from 1-3PM scheduled (if needed)

9. Items for next agenda

- a) Watershed Coordinator Selection
 - i) Interview
 - (1) Fresh Coast Capital, LLC dba Greenprint Partners
 - (2) S. Groner Associates Inc.

10. Adjournment

Kirk Allen thanked the committee members and public for their time and participation and adjourned the meeting.

	SOUTH SANTA MONICA BAY WASC MEETING - December 16, 2020							
		Quorum Present				Voting Items		
Member Type	Organization	Member	Voting?	Alternate	Voting?	Meeting Minutes	Voting Item 7a	
Agency	LACFCD	Cung Nguyen	Х	Carolina Hernandez		Υ	Υ	
Agency	West Basin MWD	E.J. Caldwell	Х	Alex Heide		Υ	Υ	
Agency	Water Replenishment District	Diane Gatza	Х	Lyndsey Bloxom		Υ	Υ	
Agency	LAC Sanitation District	Kristen Ruffell	Х	Mike Sullivan		Υ	Υ	
Agency	LA Recreation & Parks	Cathie Santo Domingo		Darryl Ford	Х	Υ	Υ	
Community Stakeholder								
Community Stakeholder	Surfrider Foundation South Bay	Craig Cadwallader	Х	Mary Simun		А	Υ	
Community Stakeholder	Santa Monica Bay Restoration	Guang Yu Wang	Х			Υ	Υ	
Community Stakeholder	Fangary Law Group	Hany Fangary	Х	Justin Massey		Y	Υ	
Community Stakeholder	Los Angeles Conservation Corps	Wendy Butts	Х	Bo Savage		Υ	Υ	
Municipal Members	Carson	Julio Gonzalez	Х	Maria E. Williams-		(not present)	(not present)	
Municipal Members	Los Angeles	Susie Santilena	Х	Ilene Ramirez		Υ	Υ	
Municipal Members	LAC Public Works	TJ Moon	Х	Thuan Nguyen		Υ	Υ	
Municipal Members	Torrance	John Dettle	Х	Wilson Mendoza		Υ	Υ	
Municipal Members	EWMP: Beach Cities	Stephanie Katsouleas	Х	Shaw Igoe		Υ	Υ	
Municipal Members	EWMP: Dominguez	Heecheol Kwon		Mitchell Wagner				
Municipal Members	EWMP: Peninsula	Ken Rukavina	Χ	David Wahba		Υ	Υ	
	Total Non-Vacant Seats	16			Yay (Y)	13	14	
Total Voting Members Present		15			Nay (N)	0	0	
Agency		5			Abstain (A)	1	0	
Community Stakeholder		4			Total	14	14	
Municipal Members		6				Approved	Approved	

Other Attendees
Adi Liberman
Alex Iglesias
Benjamin Shorofsky
Brenda Morales
Christine McLeod
Derek Steele
Gustavo Orozco
llene Ramirez
Jacqueline McMillen
Justin Jones
Katherine Pease
Katie M
Lauren Amimoto
Lena Nguyen
Maria De Leon
Mercedes Passanisi
Nate Schreiner
Richard Watson
Shawn Igoe
Shelley Luce
Susan Robinson
Thuan Nguyen
Wilson Mendoza
Jon Abelson