Safe, Clean Water Program Central Santa Monica Bay Watershed Area Steering Committee (WASC)



Meeting Minutes:

Thursday, December 17, 2020 10:00am - 12:00pm WebEx Meeting

Attendees

WASC Members Present: Cung Nguyen (LACFCD) EJ Caldwell (West Basin) Art Castro* (LADWP) Sheila Brice (LA Bureau of Sanitation) Rita Kampalath (LA County CEO) Alysen Weiland* (Lipa Consulting) Gloria Walton (SCOPE) Bruce Reznik (LA Waterkeeper)

Josette Descalzo (West Hollywood) Charles Herbertson (Culver City) Max Podemski (Los Angeles) Rafael Prieto* (Los Angeles) Liz Crosson (Los Angeles) Bruce Hamamoto (LA County) Curtis Castle (Santa Monica)

WASC Members Not Present: Cathie Santo Domingo (LA Rec & Parks)

*WASC Member Alternate

See attached sign-in sheet for full list of attendees

1. Welcome and Introductions

Liz Crosson, the Chair of the Central Santa Monica Bay WASC, called the meeting to order.

All WASC members made self-introductions, and a quorum was established.

2. Approval of Meeting Minutes from November 19, 2020

The District provided a copy of the meeting minutes from the previous meeting. Liz Crosson asked the WASC members for comments or revisions.

Gloria Walton made a motion to approve the meeting minutes. Josette Descalzo seconded the motion. The WASC voted to approve the meeting minutes. (unanimous)

3. Public Comment Period

No public comments received.

4. Committee Member and District Updates

Kirk Allen provided the District update noting: the launch of the SCW Portal and Dashboard, the Scoring Committee has begun scoring projects for CSMB, all municipal transfer agreements have been sent out and the District has begun receiving annual plans, all regional transfer agreements are now out and the District has begun receiving scopes of work, and program reporting will likely begin in July.

Gloria Walton noted she is no longer the CEO but is still the representative on behalf of SCOPE. She is now the CEO for The Solutions Project.



5. Discussion Items:

a) Ex Parte Communication Disclosures

Bruce Reznik noted that he is part of the Scoring Committee, and that he has had meetings with Our Water LA Coalition and District Staff, but that meetings were not related to today's agenda.

Alysen Weiland noted that she will be a non-voting member this year, as there is an application submitted by PSOMAS.

b) Watershed Coordinator Selection

i) Process Overview

During the interview process, District staff will read each interview question and have it presented on the screen. Each WC will be allowed 20 minutes to answer all the questions. District staff will manage a timer and provide a time remaining reminder to the interviewees at the end of the interview and then 10 minutes will be allowed for follow up questions and answers. Committee members were sent the set of WC interview questions, note-taking sheet, the WC roles/responsibilities, and each WC's Statement of Qualifications (SOQs). It is important to write notes to remember critical information when voting at the next meeting, or should the Committee member present at today's meeting not be present at the following meeting (in this case, the meeting notes should be passed onto the alternate member). If any of the Committee members have a financial link to any of the WC interviewees, these Committee members must recuse and remove themselves from the WC selection process. For WC applicants that did not meet the scoring threshold, debriefing meetings have already been scheduled with LA County Public Works' Contracts Division.

ii) Interview

The following firms and respective presenters conducted the WC interviews by answering all of the interview questions and individual WASC member questions.

(1) S. Groner Associates Inc.

WASC individual members with specific questions after the interview were Charles Herbertson, Bruce Reznik, Josette Descalzo, and Gloria Walton.

(2) Fresh Coast Capital, LLC dba Greenprint Partners

WASC individual members with specific questions after the interview were Liz Crosson and Curtis Castle.

6. Public Comment Period

No public comments received.

7. Voting Items:

None

Safe, Clean Water Program Central Santa Monica Bay Watershed Area Steering Committee (WASC)



8. Items for next agenda

- a) 1st Monday, 1-3PM (placeholder from January to April 2021)
- b) 3rd Thursday, 10AM-12PM (ongoing)
- c) For WC Selection:
 - i) Monday, 1/4 from 1-4PM scheduled
 - ii) Thursday, 1/21 from 10AM-12PM scheduled (if needed)

9. Items for next agenda

- a) Watershed Coordinator Selection
 - i) Interview
 - (1) Environmental Outreach Strategies
 - (2) Heal The Bay
 - (3) Richard Watson & Associates Inc.

10. Adjournment

Liz Crosson thanked the WASC members and public for their time and participation and adjourned the meeting.

CENTRAL SANTA MONICA BAY WASC MEETING - December 17, 2020							
			Quorum	Present		Items	
Member Type	Organization	Member	Voting?	Alternate	Voting?	Meeting Minutes	
Agency	LACFCD	Cung Nguyen	Х	Carolina Hernandez		Y	
Agency	West Basin MWD	E.J. Caldwell	Х	Alex Heide		Y	
Agency	LA Water & Power	Delon Kwan		Art Castro	х	Y	
Agency	LA Sanitation District	Sheila Brice	Х	Michael Scaduto		Y	
Agency	LA Recreation & Parks	Cathie Santo Domingo		Darryl Ford			
Community Stakeholder	LAC Chief Sustainability Office	Rita Kampalath	х	Gary Gero		Y	
Community Stakeholder	Lipa Consulting Company /	Jacob Lipa		Alysen Weiland	Х	Y	
Community Stakeholder	The Solutions Project	Gloria Walton	х			Y	
Community Stakeholder	LA Waterkeeper	Bruce Reznik	х	Kim Martin		Y	
Community Stakeholder							
Municipal Members	Beverly Hills /	Josette Descalzo	х	Hany Demitri		Y	
Municipal Members	Culver City	Charles Herbertson	х	Kim Braun		Y	
Municipal Members	Los Angeles	Max Podemski	х	Ackley Padilla		Y	
Municipal Members	Los Angeles	Jeff Camp		Rafael Prieto	х	Y	
Municipal Members	Los Angeles	Liz Crosson	х	Susie Santilena		Y	
Municipal Members	LAC Public Works	Bruce Hamamoto	х	Armando D'Angelo		Y	
Municipal Members	Santa Monica	Curtis Castle	х	George Rodriguez		Y	
	Total Non-Vacant Seats	16			Yay (Y)	15	
Total Voting Members Present		15			Nay (N)	0	
Agency		4			Abstain (A)	0	
Community Stakeholder		4			Total	15	
Municipal Members		7				Approved	

Other Attendees				
April Mendez	Juan Diez-Carreras			
Aric Torreyson	Justin Jones			
Benjamin Sorofsky	Katherine Pease			
Brenda Morales	Katie M			
Brett Perry	Kim Braun			
Bronwyn Kelly	Lauren Amimoto			
Chanel Kincaid	Ly Nguyen			
Conor Mossavi	Michael Scaduto			
Danielle Chupa	Nick S			
Gustavo Orozco	Shahram Kharaghani			
Jim Burton	Sheila Brice			
Jim Sparber	Stephen Groner			
Johanna Chang	Taraneh Nik-Khah			
Jon Ball	Wendy Dinh			